How to Share the Story of Another User on Instagram

How to Share the Story of Another User on Instagram

May 8, 2020 Off By Martina Di Giannantonio

Sometimes it happens to browse Instagram and, seeing the stories of our friends and not, we run into a photo or a video particularly interesting. So we would like to share it on the story of our own profile. If it ever happened to you and you were not able to do it, but you are curious to know it, let’s see together how to share the story of another user on Instagram.

When it is possible to share a story of another user

First of all, it is necessary to make some differences regarding the modalities of sharing a story on Instagram. In fact, the stories posted by other users can both be shared on your own stories and be sent to other contacts through private message. In each of the two cases, it is necessary that the author of the story has not deactivated the sharing options, therefore the items Allow resharing to stories and Allow sharing as messages, from the settings of the privacy of their profile.

It is important, though, that in order to be able to share the stories of others on yours, you need to be tagged on them. In the contrary case, you can not share the story. But it is not impossible, because you can download the content on your smartphone, maybe with a screenshot, and then share it, creating a new story on your profile. If you want to proceed through this way, you must request the permission from the author of the story you want to share, otherwise you will violate their copyright, going against the terms of use of Instagram.

Sharing a story where you are mentioned

If you want to share the story of another user, as already mentioned, therefore it is necessary that the author has not deactivated the sharing option and that has mentioned you on it. If this is the case and you have an Android device, all you have to do is open the story in which you were tagged. Usually, a notification arrives to you,  in which you are warned of the fact that you were mentioned on the story. So, once you have opened the story, what you need to do is click on the voice Add this to your story and press then on the option Your Story at the bottom left.

The procedure to follow if you have an iPhone is more or less the same. If you already know which is the story where you were mentioned, and this one was posted by a user you follow, open the app of Instagram and tap on the story, which is visible in the top section of the home page, where there are all the stories of the accounts you follow. Otherwise go directly to the profile of the person who tagged you. Once you have found the story, choose the option Add this to your story and then click on the voice Your Story at the bottom left.

Sharing a story where you are not mentioned

Instead, if you want to share a story of another user on Instagram, in which, however, you have not been mentioned, you can share it through private message. To do this, identify the story you want to share and tap on the icon of the paper airplane at the bottom right. Once you have done it, click on the button Send, next to the person to whom you want to send the story. If you want, you can also insert an eventual message by clicking on the field Write a message and then click on Send.

Sharing a story where you are not mentioned in your own story

 

Finally, if your intention is to share a story, where you are not mentioned, in that of your profile, it is necessary, as anticipated at the beginning, to ask the permission to the author. If this person gives you the consent, go to their story and take a screenshot of the photo contained in it, or film the screen of your smartphone if it is a video.

At this point, go to the home page of Instagram, tap on your image at the top left and click on the voice Add to your story. Now you have to access the memory of your smartphone, by going to the little square at the bottom left, choose the content you wanted to share and click on Send to at the bottom right.

To finish, click on the button Share, next to your profile photo and the lettering Your Story. So, in this way you will have shared the story of another user without your tag on it.