Bitcoin Bitcoin 5.21% $37265.92
5.21%
104522.61 BTC $699391868928.00

Add & Remove Owners and Managers from your Google My Business Profile

Add & Remove Owners and Managers from your Google My Business Profile

December 11, 2020 0 By Alex Balaniuc

In case you’re the owner of a Google My Business page that is currently shared between you and other owners and managers, know that you can also add or remove them to your liking. 

Do you wonder sometimes, as a business owner, about how you could promote your company optimally? Nowadays, there’s no better choice than creating an online profile for your business. Many business owners build a profile for their company on social media platforms – such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter – because getting noticed by a large audience on the Internet is relatively easy.

What is Google My Business?

 

 

Google My Business is not a social media platform, but a free service offered by Google that was developed in 2014 exclusively for the purpose of promoting businesses. So, if you own a business, maybe consider creating a My Business profile for it, because it will surely help you in making it more visible to search engines.

On your My Business profile you enter info about your business, you can exchange messages with your customers, answer to reviews, but also upload photos, promote on sale products. Anytime a customer interacts with your My Business profile through Google, you’ll be notified.

The roles in a Business profile

If you already own a My Business profile, you clicked on this article because you want to find out how to manage the profile’s current owners and managers. You can invite additional users and entrust them with one of the two tasks. Each one of you will have their own access without having to share sign-in info. Keep in mind that owners, managers and site managers have different rights:

– owners are the only ones who can add & remove users

– managers can remove themselves from the profile

How to add users

 

 

Whenever an invitation to become a user is accepted, the owners of the profile are notified through email. All users in the account can find the names and email addresses of the owners and managers of the profile.

NOTE: If you want to transfer ownership of your profile to someone else, check this page.

Computer:

– on your computer, sign in to Google My Business

 

 

– if you have multiple locations, open the location you’d like to manage

 

 

– in the menu on the left, click Users

– at the top right, click the Invite new users icon

 

 

– enter the name or email address of the user you’d like to add. If you want to add an agency to your location, you need to enter the agency’s location group ID here (you might need to reach out to the agency and ask for the ID)

– to select the user’s role, click Choose a roleOwnerManager, or Site manager

 

 

– click Invite. Invitees will have the option to accept the invitation and immediately become users

 

 

This page displays all active users and people who are invited to become users. To cancel pending invitations, click the X icon in the row with the invitation you want to remove.

Android / iOS & iPadOS:

 

 

– on your Android, iOS or iPadOS device, open the Google My Business app

– if you have multiple locations, open the location you’d like to manage

– tap MenuManage users

– at the top right, tap Add user

– enter the name or email address of the user you’d like to add. If you want to add an agency to your location, you need to add the agency’s location group ID here (you might need to reach out to the agency and ask for this ID)

– to select the user’s role, choose > OwnerManager, or Site manager

 

 

– confirm the email address, then tap Send

The page displays all active users, as well as people who are invited to become users. To cancel pending invitations, next to the invitation you want to remove, tap More and then Remove.

How to remove owners and managers

 

 

When a user has been removed, they’ll be notified through email. They will no longer be able to edit business information or take any administrative actions for the profile, although all their past responses to reviews, posts, comments, and other actions will remain.

Computer:

– sign in to Google My Business

– if you have multiple locations, open the location you’d like to manage

– on the left, click Users

– next to the person you’d like to remove, click Remove

If this doesn’t work, maybe:

– you’re trying to remove the primary owner from the profile. Transfer primary ownership to someone else (learn how here), then remove the user from the profile

– you’re signed in as a manager. Remember: only owners can remove other owners and managers

Android:

 

 

– open the Google My Business app

– if you have multiple locations, open the location you’d like to manage

– on the left, tap Users

– next to the person you’d like to remove, tap MoreRemove

OS & iPadOS:

– open the Google My Business app

– if you have multiple locations, open the location you’d like to manage

– tap MoreManage users

– next to the user you’d like to remove, tap MoreRemove > OK