Bitcoin Bitcoin 1.12% $40111.6
1.12%
29950.97 BTC $752922787840.00

Google Maps: how to create a list of places

Google Maps: how to create a list of places

December 18, 2020 0 By Alex Balaniuc

We already talked about how you could use the Google Maps app to find the location in which you parked your car in this article right here. Now, we’re going to introduce an interesting Maps feature that will for sure come in handy and will save you some time: it consists of compiling a list to which you can add – or remove – your favorite places or places that you’d like to visit, and more. By doing so, you won’t waste any time setting up Maps to search for your destination, such as your workplace, everytime you need to go there.

 

Here’s how you can use this feature

Making a new list

 

Computer:

– open Google Maps

– click MenuYour placesSaved

– in the bottom right, click Add

– enter a name and description

– then Save

Android:

– open the Google Maps app on your Android device

– tap Saved. Scroll down to “Your lists”

– in the bottom right, tap Add

– enter a name and description

– select a list type:

 — private: only you can view and edit

 — shared: share a link to view or edit

 — public: appears publicly in Google’s services across the web with your profile and photo

– tap Save

iOS\iPadOS:

– open the Google Maps app

– tap Saved. Then scroll down to “Your lists”

– tap New list

– enter a name and description

– tap Save

Saving a place to a list

 

Computer:

– search for a place or click it on the map

– click Save

– now choose a list. To create it, click New list

– to remove a place from a list, click Saved > click the list (optional)

Android:

– open the Google Maps app

– search for a place or tap it on the map

– at the bottom, tap the place’s name or address

– tap Save

– choose a list. To create a new list, tap New list

– a note can be added to a place after saving it to a list (optional)

iOS\iPadOS:

– open Google Maps

– search for a place or tap it on the map

– at the bottom, tap the place’s name or address

– tap Save

– choose a list. To create a new list, tap New list

Editing or deleting a list

 

Computer:

– on your computer, open Google Maps

– click MenuYour placesSaved

– to erase a list, tap MoreDelete list

– to edit a list, at the top, tap MoreEdit list. From here you can:

 — edit the list: click the name or description you want to change

 — add notes: click the box below the address. You can add up to 4,000 characters

 — delete a saved place: click Remove

Your changes are saved automatically, and comments appear in your saved list below the place.

Android & iOS\iPadOS:

– open the Google Maps app

– tap Saved. Scroll down to “Your lists”

– tap the list you want to edit or delete

– to erase a list, at the top, tap MoreDelete list. You can’t erase the default lists built into Maps, like Favorites, Want to Go, and Starred Places

– to change a list, at the top, tap Edit. From here you can:

 — edit the list: at the top, tap the name or description you want to change

 — add notes: Tap the box below the place you want to describe. You can add up to 4,000 characters

 — delete a saved place: Tap Remove

– when you’re done, on the top right, tap Save

Hiding and sharing lists

 

Computer:

– on your computer, open Google Maps

– click Menu > Your placesSaved

– next to the list you want to share, click Morechoose an option:

 – Hide\Show your list: to display or hide your saved places when looking at the map, click Hide/Show on your map

 – Share your list: to let others see your saved list, click Share list > choose how to share. If you want a link that you can share with others, click Get link. To decide how easy your list is to find, click Sharing options. Keep in mind that you can’t share starred places

Android & iOS\iPadOS:

– open the Google Maps app

– tap Saved. Scroll down to “Your lists”

– next to the list you want to share, tap More > choose an option:

 — Hide/Show on your map: display or hide your saved places when looking at the map

 — Edit list: add or remove places to the list

 — Share list: allow others to see or collaborate on your saved list

 — Sharing options: you can make your list public, private, or shared. To let anyone with the link see your list, tap Shared. To let anyone find and follow your list, tap Public

– Anyone who can view your lists can also view the names and profile pictures of people who have joined the list. Plus, they’ll view who has added or edited places and notes on the list.

Complete your list

Computer, Android & iOS\iPadOS:

– make a new list with your own title

– add a description about the list

– enter at least 4 places

– add descriptions about each place on the list

– to publish your list, click More >Sharing options > Public

What will this achieve? Well, lists that have the attributes above can be shown to other people (featured lists can appear in the Google Maps Explore tab and other places across Maps & Search).

But your list can also remain private by toggling “private”, so that no one but you will see it. To toggle your list to private, next to your list click More > Sharing optionsPrivate.

Manage who can edit your shared lists

 

 

When you share a list with other people, they can edit the list themselves if they have the permission to do so.

Invite others to edit your list

Here’s how you can invite others to join your shared and public lists to edit them.

Android & iOS\iPadOS:

– the Google Maps app

– tap Saved. Scroll down to “Your lists”

– next to the list, tap MoreShare list

– turn “Link allows editing” on

– pick who to share the edit link with

Change who can edit your list

Do this if you want to re-share a list’s edit link or add more editors.

Android & iOS\iPadOS:

– open the Google Maps app

– tap Saved. Scroll down to “Your lists”

– tap MoreSharing options

– under “Editors,” tap Invite others

– choose who to share the link with

To remove all current editors, turn the editing option off like this:

– tap More > Sharing options

– under “Editing Options,” turn off Let others edit this list

– turn on Let others edit this list to get a new link to share with others