TECHNOLOGY, INTERNET TRENDS, GAMING

How to configure your account in Telegram?

How to configure your account in Telegram?

Telegram, like WhatsApp, is one of the most widely used messaging apps worldwide. Recently, this application has considerably increased its number of users, because the new rules for using WhatsApp are not to the liking of many people.

Telegram since its inception has offered the public a very interesting set of functions and options. Among the most attractive options, we can mention the level of security it provides, as well as groups, bots and channels.

If you want to become part of the new Telegram users, you should know about its functions and facilities, when setting up your profile or account.

How to set up your Telegram account?

After you have downloaded the application and registered, you must continue with the configuration of your account and profile. The configuration of your profile will allow you to define the level of privacy and security of the app, to protect your data or to avoid being added to groups or channels without your consent.

Below we detail all the options that Telegram offers you to configure your account, and how you can customize them.

Visibility of your profile picture

This option will allow you to add an additional level to the privacy of your account, from the contacts you have, and from the groups that exist in the app. With this option you can disable the visibility of your profile photo, in front of strangers.

What should you do?

  • First, access Telegram.
  • Select the menu located in the upper left corner of the screen, identified by 3 lines.
  • Choose the “Settings” option.
  • Go to the “Privacy and security” section.
  • Select the option “Profile photo”.
  • Indicate who can see your profile photo from the options presented: “Everyone” or “My contacts”.
  • Add group or user exceptions for which this rule will not apply.

Permission to be added to groups or channels

Telegram also offers you the possibility to define who will have permission to add you to groups or channels. In this way you can have control over your participation in these media and information.

You will not be part of a group or channel, unless one of your contacts adds you, or you join of your own free will.

What should you do?

  • The first step to take is to enter Telegram.
  • Select the menu located in the upper left corner of the screen, identified by 3 lines.
  • Choose the “Settings” option.
  • Go to the “Privacy and security” section.
  • Then go to “Groups and channels”.
  • Indicate in the section “Who can add me to groups?”, the option you prefer: “Everyone” or “My contacts”.
  • You can also add exceptions, in case it applies to some users.

Self-destruct function

This is another of Telegram’s special functions. You can configure it so that your account self-destructs, as soon as you stop using it.

You can determine the self-destruct time from the settings option of the app. This function operates in the following way: once you set a certain time and it is met without you having logged in or having been online, your account and your Telegram profile will automatically be permanently deleted.

Self-destruction cannot be disabled, but you can set a maximum time of one year. If you don’t want your account and profile to be deleted, you just have to use the app at least once every month.

What should you do?

  • First, enter Telegram.
  • Go to the “Settings” option of the app.
  • Select the “Privacy and security” option.
  • Find and choose the option “Account self-destruction”.
  • Indicate the time you prefer for self-destruction, among the alternatives that the application presents: One month, Three months, Six months or One year.
  • Finally, the window will close automatically and self-destruction will be configured.

Option “Make me visible”

This is another of Telegram’s special options. “Make me visible” allows contacts you do not know to talk to you, and also that you can be located through your location.

It is an optional alternative, so you can activate and deactivate it whenever you want.

What should you do?

  • Enter the “Settings” menu of the application.
  • Then go to the “Contacts” section.
  • Select the option “Find People Nearby”.
  • Then press “Make myself visible”.

By activating it you will have the opportunity to speak with people located near you, who also have this option active. When you want to deactivate it, you just have to execute the same steps and finally select “Stop showing me visible”.

%d bloggers like this: