Pinterest and the violation of Community Guidelines

Pinterest and the violation of Community Guidelines

November 13, 2020 0 By Alex Balaniuc

If your Pinterest account appears to have been violated and consequently suspended, you’ll be concerned with taking the necessary safety measures to avoid this event to happen again.

Pinterest is a web app focused on image sharing that also functions as a social media. Created in 2010 by American developers Ben Silbermann, Paul Sciarra and Evan Sharp, the website reached an impressive level of popularity: in August 2020, it had over 400 million monthly active users.

How does Pinterest work? Well, it consists of pins and boards. Users can upload images to the site or link them from another site: these images are the pins. Each pin belongs to a board, which is a collection of pins related to a certain theme, for example healthy recipes, sports, art, travel. The user personalizes his or her board by adding to it the pins that meet their interest, and just like that their home feed will be filled with pins coming from the user’s followed accounts, boards and topics.

Now that we introduced Pinterest, let’s dive into the issue of your account’s safety.

What happens if your account is endangered

In which cases does Pinterest think that your account is being jeopardized, meaning that Community Guidelines have been violated? For example, when your account has been accessed from an unusual position, or maybe in the case that you (or someone else) tried logging in many times in a row, or in the case of spam.

Whenever the app notices one of these suspicious activities on your account, it will act by sending you an email. Then a different password will be set, and all the people logged in to your account (yourself included) will be ejected.

How to log in to your account again

Now you will be back to your Pinterest account after choosing a new password, or you can log in to your account if it is linked to Google or Facebook and you already accessed Pinterest through one of the two in the past. Once you’re in, you might want to consider enabling other security measures for more protection.

Tips to keep your account safe

Enable two-factor authentication

Two-factor authentication can only be activated from your desktop, you’ll be asked to insert your password and to verify a code sent to your email or phone number (if you add it to your account) every time you log in to your account:

  • From your desktop, log in to Pinterest
  • Tap the arrow icon in the upper right corner next to your profile picture and select Settings

  • Click Security on the left and check the Require code at login box

  • Confirm your password and click Next

  • Add your phone number and click Next
  • Enter the Verification Code sent to you via SMS and tap Verify

Link your account to Google or Facebook

Check if your email is updated

  • Insert your new email in the Required field

Create a password specific for Pinterest and don’t use it anywhere else