Share your Google Maps location with anyone you want

Share your Google Maps location with anyone you want

December 18, 2020 By Alex Balaniuc

Did you know that Google Maps allows you to share your real-time location? Maps is full of useful little tools – as seen here and here – that make your outside ventures easier, and this feature in particular is great in many aspects. Maybe you’d like to make your parents know that you’re safe and having a milkshake at your local Starbucks, or you want to tell your friends where to come pick you up exactly, or you feel like letting your social media followers know the location where you’re having fun at the moment.

Let’s dive right into the article to find out how we can benefit from this feature!

Google Location sharing and availability

 

 

With Google Location sharing, you can choose who can find your location and for what length of time. You may get a warning when you open Location sharing. This could be because:

– you’re in a country or region where you can’t share your location

– location sharing isn’t available for your G Suite domain. You’ve got to ask your administrator to turn on this feature

– maybe you’re too young to share your location. In such case, your parent or guardian can manage Location sharing with the Family Link app

How to share your real-time location with others

 

Android:

​ – open the Google Maps app and sign in

– tap your profile picture or initial > Location sharingNew share

– now share your location with someone:

– tap the profile of the person you want to share your location with

– if asked about your contacts, give Google Maps permission

– tap Share

– if the other person has a Google Account:

– make sure their Gmail address is part of your Google Contacts

– choose how long you want to share your location

– if the other person doesn’t have a Google Account:

– tap Copy to clipboard. A link to your location is copied

– paste the link into a message in your text, email, or other messaging app and send it to the person

– people with this link can find your location for up to 72 hours or less if you choose

iOS\iPadOS:

– open the Google Maps app and sign in

– tap your profile picture or initial > Location sharingNew share

– choose how long you want to share your location

– tap Select People

– if you’re asked about your contacts, give Google Maps access

– choose a person

– tap Share. The person you chose will see that you shared your location with them

Share your estimated time of arrival

 

 

When you start navigation by car, walking, or bicycle, you can share your destination, estimated arrival time, and where you are on the route. The person you share this information with can see your location until you arrive.

Android & iOS\iPadOS:

– open the Google Maps app

– set a destination

– after you start navigation, tap More Share trip progress

– tap the profile of the person whom you want to share with > Share

– location Sharing stops when you reach your destination or exit navigation

– to stop sharing before you arrive, tap More > Stop sharing

Find someone’s location

Android & iOS\iPadOS:

When someone shares their location with you, you can find them on your map.

– open the Google Maps app

– tap your profile picture or initial > Location sharing

– tap the profile of the person you want to find. Know that to get an updated location, you can tap your friend’s icon > More > Refresh

Ask for someone’s location

If you’ve shared your location with someone, or they’ve shared it with you in the past, you can ask for their location in Maps.

Android & iOS\iPadOS:

– open Google Maps

– tap your profile picture or initial > Location sharing

– tap a contact who’s shared with you before

– tap Request > Request

Now, your contact will get your email address and a notification. Once they do, they can:

– view your profile to verify who you are

– share their location with you

– ignore your request

– block you, after which you can’t ask for their location anymore

Hide someone’s location

You can undo what is noted above if you don’t need to know someone else’s location anymore.

Android & iOS\PadOS:

– open Google Maps

– on the map, tap the person’s icon

– at the bottom, tap More

– to temporarily hide someone, tap Hide from map. You can turn their location back on at any time

Having problems streaming YouTube videos? Here's how you can solve them
Having problems streaming YouTube videos? Here's how you can solve them
YouTube is a huge company with lots of loyal followers, who visit YouTube's website every day and at every hour. Indeed, YT has an average of 30 million active users a day. Since servers are packed with people all connected…

Google Maps: how to create a list of places
Google Maps: how to create a list of places
We already talked about how you could use the Google Maps app to find the location in which you parked your car in this article right here. Now, we're going to introduce an interesting Maps feature that will for sure…

How to Record a Video Meeting in Google Meet
How to Record a Video Meeting in Google Meet
Google Meet is a video-chatting service that turned very useful for millions of people around the globe, especially over the last year. Designed primarily for business and office use, it lets colleagues chat over video and text. Meet is built…

What is Google Security Checkup?
What is Google Security Checkup?
In the current Digital Age, having a personal online account is taken for granted. An online account represents a physical, real person, it's the mediator we use whenever we have to do pretty much anything on the Web.    …

Improve online security with ClearVPN
Improve online security with ClearVPN
MacPaw is the company behind ClearVPN, the first truly personalized multi-platform VPN whose goal is to provide users with a more secure, individualized online experience.  For starters, what is MacPaw about? Founded in 2008 with headquarters in Kyiv, Ukraine, the…

Add & Remove Owners and Managers from your Google My Business Profile
Add & Remove Owners and Managers from your Google My Business Profile
In case you're the owner of a Google My Business page that is currently shared between you and other owners and managers, know that you can also add or remove them to your liking.  Do you wonder sometimes, as a…