Share your Private YouTube Videos with Someone: here’s How
YouTube videos are divided into three categories: public, private and unlisted videos. The video uploader can decide wether a video is going to be accessible to everyone on YouTube or not by using the privacy settings feature, which modifies the video’s Visibility.
Types of YouTube videos based on Visibility
Public videos are visible to anyone on YouTube and can also be shared with anyone using YouTube. They’re posted on your channel when you upload them and show up in search results and related video lists.
Unlisted videos and playlists can be seen and shared by anyone only through link. So, your unlisted videos won’t appear in the Videos tab of your channel homepage, and they won’t show up in YouTube’s search results unless someone adds your unlisted video to a public playlist. As we mentioned, you can share an unlisted video’s URL with other people. The people you share the video with don’t need a Google Account to see the video. Plus, those with the link can also reshare it.
Private videos and playlists can only be accessed by you and the people you choose. Therefore, your private videos won’t appear in the Videos tab of your channel homepage, and they also won’t show up in YouTube’s search results. Only YouTube systems and human reviewers can see private videos by reviewing them for ad suitability, copyright, and other abuse prevention mechanisms.
How you can share a private video with someone
Sharing a private video is possible only if you’re the video owner. Also, you need to sign in to YouTube Studio beforehand. Once you created a YouTube Studio account, here’s what you have to do to share a private video:
- go to YouTube Studio
- from the left menu, select Content
- click the video you’d like to edit
- then click the Visibility box and select Share privately
- enter the email addresses of the people you’d like to share your video with, then select SAVE
Know that comments are not available on private videos. If you want to allow comments on a video that’s not publicly available, you’ll have to change the privacy setting to unlisted.